The popular 5-Day Best of Kruger Safari is a 4-night/5-day safari in the Kruger National Park offering open vehicle game drives with an experienced safari guide. Includes a night drive and guided bush walk. Spend two nights at each of two different camps, in different areas of Kruger Park, giving you the best game viewing opportunities. Book early to avoid disappointment!

Highlights
  • Regular scheduled departures from Johannesburg
  • Stay in two different camps, experience different areas of the park
  • En-suite, air-conditioned bungalows
  • Open vehicle game drives
  • Experienced, professional safari guide
  • Best game viewing areas
  • Includes a bush walk with an expert, armed guide
  • Thrilling night drive with spotlights included
  • Excellent value-for-money
  • Minimum 2 people, maximum 9 people per vehicle.

5 Day Best of Kruger Safari Map

Itinerary

Day 1

The 5 Day Best of Kruger Safari departs from Johannesburg around 07h00, or from Nelspruit around 12h30 (same cost). Please see our scheduled departure dates at the bottom of this page. We drive through the scenic province of Mpumalanga to the entrance of the Kruger National Park. The transfer is conducted in a luxury air-conditioned minibus.

When we get near the Kruger National Park, we transfer to an open safari vehicle to continue our journey into Kruger Park. Our first game drive begins as we enter the gates and make our way to the first overnight camp.

We use some of the most popular camps in Kruger Park, situated in the best game viewing areas.

Dinner will be prepared by your guide and may take the form of a traditional South African braai (barbecue), weather permitting. Alternatively, we may use the camp restaurant or catering services.

Kruger Park Safari

Game drives on open safari vehicle with experienced guide

Day 2

Rise with the sun to enjoy your first full day of game viewing in the Kruger National Park.

On one of the mornings, there will be an opportunity to participate in a guided bush walk, led by an armed ranger from the Parks Board. This is not compulsory and is subject to availability as well as weather dependent.

On a bush walk, you will be able to appreciate the smaller wonders of the wild: tracks left by wild animals, interesting plants and how they can be used and, with some luck, you may be able to see some wild animals while on foot.

Kruger Park Guided Bush Walk

Guided bush walk (included but not compulsory)

We return to camp for a well-earned brunch (late breakfast) and spend some time relaxing in camp.

You may watch animals from the viewing deck, take a siesta in your air-conditioned bungalow, cool down in the swimming pool, or browse through the curio shop.

In the afternoon, we head out on another game drive, looking for the Big 5 and other animals like giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, and various antelope species.

We return to camp by sunset. Dinner is again enjoyed outside around the fire, or in the camp restaurant.

Day 3

Today is devoted to game viewing, and this is also the day that we pack up and make our way to another camp, in a different area of Kruger Park (subject to accommodation availability).

This gives you the opportunity to experience a variety of habitats and vegetation types, which usually means slightly different game viewing opportunities.

Day 4

Similar to days 2 and 3 in that our time is spent game viewing. The best time to do this is in the early morning and late afternoon, when the sun is not too hot and the animals are more active.

Along the way, we visit waterholes, viewpoints and beautiful picnic sites, where we can stretch our legs (during game drives, we are not permitted to alight from the vehicle except in designated areas).

On one of the evenings, a sunset drive or night drive with spotlights is included. This is conducted either at sunset or late at night, by one of the Kruger Park's rangers on an open truck, using powerful spotlights to try and find some of the more elusive nocturnal animals.

Kruger Night Drive

A leopard seen on a night drive

Day 5

Our last day in the bush and time for a final early morning game drive in search of any animals that may have eluded us thus far.

After brunch, we make our way toward the exit gate, where we swop back to a luxury air-conditioned vehicle for the transfer back to Johannesburg or Nelspruit or connect with your onward travel plans.

Normally we arrive back in Johannesburg between 5 - 6 pm, give or take an hour (depending on traffic).

Important notes:

  • This 5-day Best of Kruger safari really does offer you the "Best" of Kruger. Experience two different rest camps in different vegetation zones, three full days' game drives in open safari vehicles with an expert guide, an exciting night drive with spotlights, and a guided bushwalk - one of the best ways to experience the thrill of the African bush: its sights, smells, sounds and abundant fauna and flora.
  • The road trip from OR Tambo to Kruger Gate is included and takes approx. 5-6 hours. One-way or return flights can be arranged to avoid the road transfer (at extra cost).
  • Check out our list of scheduled departures below. Click on any departure date to enquire for that date.
  • Please book early! Short notice availability on all our Kruger National Park safaris is very limited.
  • Guaranteed departures, minimum 2 people, maximum 9 per vehicle. Bigger groups will be split over multiple vehicles.
  • Compare before you buy? Avoid disappointment by first reading our informative guide to Comparing Safaris.

Quick links to other popular Kruger Park Safaris:

3 Day Kruger Park "Quickie" Safari

4 Day Kruger Park Budget Safari

5 Day Kruger Park & Private Lodge Safari Combo

9 Day Cape Town & Kruger Park Safari

12 Day Cape Town, Kruger Park & Victoria Falls Safari

Rates
Period Price per person (pp)
November 1, 2018 - October 31, 2019
$987
£774
€884
R14,200
November 1, 2019 - October 31, 2020
$1,071
£840
€959
R15,400

The rate is per person sharing. A 25% single supplement applies.

Children age 8-11 years pay 60% of the adult rate.

All rates on our website are provided to give a price estimate only and should not be seen as a firm quote. Likewise, our currency converter will give you a rough idea of the price in another currency, but should not be seen as a firm quote. It is only intended as a guideline, based on the daily interbank exchange rate. Please contact us to receive an accurate, free quote with no obligation.

Includes
  • Return road transfers from OR Tambo International Airport (or surrounding hotels) in air-conditioned mini-bus
  • Kruger Park entrance and daily conservation fees
  • 4 nights' accommodation inside the Kruger Park in standard en-suite bungalows with air-conditioning
  • All breakfasts and dinners
  • Limited refreshments, tea and coffee
  • All game drives on open safari vehicle with an expert guide
  • One sunset drive or night drive with one of the Kruger Park's rangers
  • A guided bush walk (subject to availability, max 8 per walk)
Excludes
  • Flights, visas and airport tax
  • Personal travel insurance
  • Lunches/meals not specified
  • Drinks
  • Optional extras
  • Personal expenses
  • Gratuities (optional)
Scheduled Tour Departures

This trip departs and ends at Johannesburg on the following dates. If you know which dates suit you, go ahead and make a selection below. If none of these dates suit you, please do contact us to request a custom departure at an additional cost on the date of your choice, subject to availability.

Wed, May 1 2019 - Sun, May 5 2019 Mon, May 6 2019 - Fri, May 10 2019 Sat, May 11 2019 - Wed, May 15 2019 Thu, May 16 2019 - Mon, May 20 2019 Tue, May 21 2019 - Sat, May 25 2019 Sun, May 26 2019 - Thu, May 30 2019 Fri, May 31 2019 - Tue, Jun 4 2019 Wed, Jun 5 2019 - Sun, Jun 9 2019 Mon, Jun 10 2019 - Fri, Jun 14 2019 Sat, Jun 15 2019 - Wed, Jun 19 2019 Thu, Jun 20 2019 - Mon, Jun 24 2019 Tue, Jun 25 2019 - Sat, Jun 29 2019 Sun, Jun 30 2019 - Thu, Jul 4 2019 Fri, Jul 5 2019 - Tue, Jul 9 2019 Wed, Jul 10 2019 - Sun, Jul 14 2019 Mon, Jul 15 2019 - Fri, Jul 19 2019 Sat, Jul 20 2019 - Wed, Jul 24 2019 Thu, Jul 25 2019 - Mon, Jul 29 2019 Tue, Jul 30 2019 - Sat, Aug 3 2019 Sun, Aug 4 2019 - Thu, Aug 8 2019 Fri, Aug 9 2019 - Tue, Aug 13 2019 Wed, Aug 14 2019 - Sun, Aug 18 2019 Mon, Aug 19 2019 - Fri, Aug 23 2019 Sat, Aug 24 2019 - Wed, Aug 28 2019 Thu, Aug 29 2019 - Mon, Sep 2 2019 Tue, Sep 3 2019 - Sat, Sep 7 2019 Sun, Sep 8 2019 - Thu, Sep 12 2019 Fri, Sep 13 2019 - Tue, Sep 17 2019 Wed, Sep 18 2019 - Sun, Sep 22 2019 Mon, Sep 23 2019 - Fri, Sep 27 2019 Sat, Sep 28 2019 - Wed, Oct 2 2019 Thu, Oct 3 2019 - Mon, Oct 7 2019 Tue, Oct 8 2019 - Sat, Oct 12 2019 Sun, Oct 13 2019 - Thu, Oct 17 2019 Fri, Oct 18 2019 - Tue, Oct 22 2019 Wed, Oct 23 2019 - Sun, Oct 27 2019 Mon, Oct 28 2019 - Fri, Nov 1 2019 Sat, Nov 2 2019 - Wed, Nov 6 2019 Thu, Nov 7 2019 - Mon, Nov 11 2019 Tue, Nov 12 2019 - Sat, Nov 16 2019 Sun, Nov 17 2019 - Thu, Nov 21 2019 Fri, Nov 22 2019 - Tue, Nov 26 2019 Wed, Nov 27 2019 - Sun, Dec 1 2019 Mon, Dec 2 2019 - Fri, Dec 6 2019 Sat, Dec 7 2019 - Wed, Dec 11 2019 Thu, Dec 12 2019 - Mon, Dec 16 2019 Tue, Dec 17 2019 - Sat, Dec 21 2019 Sun, Dec 22 2019 - Thu, Dec 26 2019 Fri, Dec 27 2019 - Tue, Dec 31 2019 Wed, Jan 1 2020 - Sun, Jan 5 2020 Mon, Jan 6 2020 - Fri, Jan 10 2020 Sat, Jan 11 2020 - Wed, Jan 15 2020 Thu, Jan 16 2020 - Mon, Jan 20 2020 Tue, Jan 21 2020 - Sat, Jan 25 2020 Sun, Jan 26 2020 - Thu, Jan 30 2020 Fri, Jan 31 2020 - Tue, Feb 4 2020 Wed, Feb 5 2020 - Sun, Feb 9 2020 Mon, Feb 10 2020 - Fri, Feb 14 2020 Sat, Feb 15 2020 - Wed, Feb 19 2020 Thu, Feb 20 2020 - Mon, Feb 24 2020 Tue, Feb 25 2020 - Sat, Feb 29 2020 Sun, Mar 1 2020 - Thu, Mar 5 2020 Fri, Mar 6 2020 - Tue, Mar 10 2020 Wed, Mar 11 2020 - Sun, Mar 15 2020 Mon, Mar 16 2020 - Fri, Mar 20 2020 Sat, Mar 21 2020 - Wed, Mar 25 2020 Thu, Mar 26 2020 - Mon, Mar 30 2020 Tue, Mar 31 2020 - Sat, Apr 4 2020 Sun, Apr 5 2020 - Thu, Apr 9 2020 Fri, Apr 10 2020 - Tue, Apr 14 2020 Wed, Apr 15 2020 - Sun, Apr 19 2020 Mon, Apr 20 2020 - Fri, Apr 24 2020 Sat, Apr 25 2020 - Wed, Apr 29 2020 Thu, Apr 30 2020 - Mon, May 4 2020 Tue, May 5 2020 - Sat, May 9 2020 Sun, May 10 2020 - Thu, May 14 2020 Fri, May 15 2020 - Tue, May 19 2020 Wed, May 20 2020 - Sun, May 24 2020 Mon, May 25 2020 - Fri, May 29 2020 Sat, May 30 2020 - Wed, Jun 3 2020 Thu, Jun 4 2020 - Mon, Jun 8 2020 Tue, Jun 9 2020 - Sat, Jun 13 2020 Sun, Jun 14 2020 - Thu, Jun 18 2020 Fri, Jun 19 2020 - Tue, Jun 23 2020 Wed, Jun 24 2020 - Sun, Jun 28 2020 Mon, Jun 29 2020 - Fri, Jul 3 2020 Sat, Jul 4 2020 - Wed, Jul 8 2020 Thu, Jul 9 2020 - Mon, Jul 13 2020 Tue, Jul 14 2020 - Sat, Jul 18 2020 Sun, Jul 19 2020 - Thu, Jul 23 2020 Fri, Jul 24 2020 - Tue, Jul 28 2020 Wed, Jul 29 2020 - Sun, Aug 2 2020 Mon, Aug 3 2020 - Fri, Aug 7 2020 Sat, Aug 8 2020 - Wed, Aug 12 2020 Thu, Aug 13 2020 - Mon, Aug 17 2020 Tue, Aug 18 2020 - Sat, Aug 22 2020 Sun, Aug 23 2020 - Thu, Aug 27 2020 Fri, Aug 28 2020 - Tue, Sep 1 2020 Wed, Sep 2 2020 - Sun, Sep 6 2020 Mon, Sep 7 2020 - Fri, Sep 11 2020 Sat, Sep 12 2020 - Wed, Sep 16 2020 Thu, Sep 17 2020 - Mon, Sep 21 2020 Tue, Sep 22 2020 - Sat, Sep 26 2020 Sun, Sep 27 2020 - Thu, Oct 1 2020 Fri, Oct 2 2020 - Tue, Oct 6 2020 Wed, Oct 7 2020 - Sun, Oct 11 2020 Mon, Oct 12 2020 - Fri, Oct 16 2020 Sat, Oct 17 2020 - Wed, Oct 21 2020 Thu, Oct 22 2020 - Mon, Oct 26 2020 Tue, Oct 27 2020 - Sat, Oct 31 2020
You may also want to look at
Special Offer
3 Day Kruger Park Safari
3 Day Kruger Park Quickie Safari
3 days
From
$619
£485
€554
R8,900

The 3-day Kruger National Park safari is designed for those who want a quick and affordable way to see the Kruger National Park in the company of an expert guide, but are really short on time. We also call it the Kruger Quickie Safari and it departs on set dates from Johannesburg or Nelspruit. Custom departures can be arranged for groups of 4+ (additional cost). Book early to avoid disappointment!

Special Offer
4 Day Kruger Park Budget Safari
4 Day Kruger Park Budget Safari
4 days
From
$821
£643
€734
R11,800

The 4-day Budget Kruger Park Safari is easy on your budget, big on game viewing. This small group, fully-guided safari in Kruger National Park overnights inside the park with scheduled departures from Johannesburg or Nelspruit. Custom departure dates may be arranged (additional cost applies). Book early to avoid disappointment!

Share