The 4-day Budget Kruger Park Safari is easy on your budget, big on game viewing. This small group, fully-guided safari in Kruger National Park overnights inside the park with scheduled departures from Johannesburg or Nelspruit. Custom departure dates may be arranged (additional cost applies). Book early to avoid disappointment!

Highlights
  • Regular scheduled departures from Johannesburg or Nelspruit
  • Easy on your budget
  • 3 Nights inside the Kruger National Park
  • Open vehicle game drives with expert guide
  • Big 5 game viewing in the best wildlife areas
  • Small groups (max 9)
  • Air-conditioned, en-suite bungalow accommodation (no camping)
  • Option to visit the scenic Panorama Route on day 3 (extra cost)

Map of our 4-Day Kruger Park Budget Safari

Itinerary

Day 1

We depart around 07h00 from OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg or any of the surrounding airport hotels.

A scenic 5-hour drive brings us to the entrance of the Kruger National Park. Here we change vehicles from our luxury air-conditioned minibus and continue the trip in an open safari vehicle, perfect for game viewing, which starts immediately on entering Kruger National Park.

We slowly make our way to the rest camp, looking for wildlife as we go. Some of the more common animals you can expect to see on the first afternoon include impala, kudu, waterbuck, warthog, zebra, wildebeest, giraffe, elephant, hippo, baboon, monkey and, hopefully, rhino and buffalo. We also hope to see lion and possibly an elusive leopard or cheetah.

We arrive at our camp by sunset and check in. We mostly use bungalows for accommodation, with en-suite bathroom and air conditioning.

Dinner may be prepared by your guide and might be a traditional South African braai (barbecue), weather permitting. Alternatively, we may use the camp restaurant or catering services.

Day 2 & 3

We rise early so we can be on the road as the sun rises. This is the best time of day for game viewing as the animals are at their most active and we are on the lookout for nocturnal animals like spotted hyenas returning to their dens for the day.

Open Vehicle Game Drives

Open Vehicle Game Drives

On our drives, we may stop at waterholes, viewpoints or picnic sites, where you can get out and stretch your legs, and enjoy some refreshments.

Breakfast is usually a mid-morning feast, enjoyed at a picnic site or back at camp.

There is no fixed schedule to keep, but usually, we return to camp late morning so you can spend the noon hours lazing around the pool or watching animals from the deck. An afternoon siesta is also a popular option.

Lunch is for your own account and you can purchase a light meal from the takeaway deli at the camp. There is also a curio shop with basic supplies in the camp.

In the afternoon we embark on another exciting game drive.

As the day cools down, the animals become more active again and game viewing becomes easier. We look for the Big 5 and all the other animals, birds and interesting plants we may find.

The excitement of a game drive is that you never know what you will find and each one is different. Perhaps we saw giraffe yesterday, but today we may see them drinking, or fighting, or eating from a nasty thorn tree without injuring themselves!

Your guide will be able to interpret the behaviour of the animals and share interesting stories and facts about the bush, which makes every drive that much more interesting.

We return to camp around sunset and enjoy another delicious dinner around the fire or in the camp restaurant.

As an optional extra, you can book a night drive with us in advance on one of the evenings. This is conducted on an open game viewing vehicle by one of the Kruger Park rangers.

Optional Panorama Route Day Trip

It is possible to book a day tour of the scenic Panorama Route on Day 3 of this safari, as an optional extra and at an extra cost. Please ask us about this option if you would like to include the Panorama Route. If you choose this day tour, you will pay a bit extra and will miss your game drives on this day.

Day 4

This morning we head out on a final early morning game drive. If we are lucky we may see wild dogs or another rare animal that we have not seen before.

After breakfast, it is time to pack up and start heading back toward the gate, where we swop over to our air-conditioned minibus for the drive back to Johannesburg. Alternatively, we can drop you off at Nelspruit or arrange your other onward travel plans from here.

We normally arrive back in Johannesburg between 5 - 6 pm, depending on the traffic.

Important Notes:

  • If you can spare the extra day, we'd strongly recommend this 4-day Budget Kruger Park Safari over the 3-day Quickie Kruger Park Safari. An extra day means you get two full days' game viewing, covering a bigger area of the park. The 3-day Quickie Safari only offers you one full day's game viewing, plus one afternoon drive on the first day and a morning game drive on the last day.
  • Travelling time between OR Tambo International and Kruger is approx. 5-6 hours. Return or one-way flights can be arranged (costs apply)
  • Check out our list of scheduled departures below. Click on any departure date to enquire for that date.
  • Please Book Early! Short notice availability on all our Kruger National Park safaris is very limited.
  • Compare before you buy - cheaper is not always better. Avoid disappointment by first reading our informative Guide to Comparing Safaris.

Quick links to other popular Kruger Park Safaris:

3-day Kruger Park Safari "Quickie"

5-day Best of Kruger Safari

5-day Kruger Park & Private Lodge Safari Combo

9-day Cape Town & Kruger Park Safari

12-day Cape Town, Kruger Park & Victoria Falls Safari

Rates
Period Price per person (pp)
November 1, 2018 - October 31, 2019
$768
£636
€694
R11,800
November 1, 2019 - October 31, 2020
$840
£695
€758
R12,900

The rate is per person sharing. A 25% single supplement applies.

Children age 8-11 years pay 60% of the adult rate.

All rates on our website are provided to give a price estimate only and should not be seen as a firm quote. Likewise, our currency converter will give you a rough idea of the price in another currency, but should not be seen as a firm quote. It is only intended as a guideline, based on the daily interbank exchange rate. Please contact us to receive an accurate, free quote with no obligation.

Includes
  • Return transfers from Johannesburg or Nelspruit
  • Kruger National Park entrance and conservation fees
  • Three nights' en-suite accommodation inside Kruger (no camping)
  • Breakfast and dinner daily
  • All game drives on open safari vehicle with expert guide
  • Limited refreshments, tea and coffee
Excludes
  • Flights, visas and airport tax
  • Personal travel insurance
  • Lunches/meals not specified
  • Drinks
  • Optional extras such as Panorama Route day trip
  • Personal expenses
  • Gratuities (optional)
Scheduled Tour Departures

This trip departs and ends at Johannesburg on the following dates. If you know which dates suit you, go ahead and make a selection below. If none of these dates suit you, please do contact us to request a custom departure at an additional cost on the date of your choice, subject to availability.

Sun, Apr 28 2019 - Wed, May 1 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, May 3 2019 - Mon, May 6 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, May 8 2019 - Sat, May 11 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, May 13 2019 - Thu, May 16 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, May 18 2019 - Tue, May 21 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, May 23 2019 - Sun, May 26 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, May 28 2019 - Fri, May 31 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Jun 2 2019 - Wed, Jun 5 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Jun 7 2019 - Mon, Jun 10 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Jun 12 2019 - Sat, Jun 15 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Jun 17 2019 - Thu, Jun 20 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Jun 22 2019 - Tue, Jun 25 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Jun 27 2019 - Sun, Jun 30 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Jul 2 2019 - Fri, Jul 5 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Jul 7 2019 - Wed, Jul 10 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Jul 12 2019 - Mon, Jul 15 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Jul 17 2019 - Sat, Jul 20 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Jul 22 2019 - Thu, Jul 25 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Jul 27 2019 - Tue, Jul 30 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Aug 1 2019 - Sun, Aug 4 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Aug 6 2019 - Fri, Aug 9 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Aug 11 2019 - Wed, Aug 14 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Aug 16 2019 - Mon, Aug 19 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Aug 21 2019 - Sat, Aug 24 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Aug 26 2019 - Thu, Aug 29 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Aug 31 2019 - Tue, Sep 3 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Sep 5 2019 - Sun, Sep 8 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Sep 10 2019 - Fri, Sep 13 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Sep 15 2019 - Wed, Sep 18 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Sep 20 2019 - Mon, Sep 23 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Sep 25 2019 - Sat, Sep 28 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Sep 30 2019 - Thu, Oct 3 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Oct 5 2019 - Tue, Oct 8 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Oct 10 2019 - Sun, Oct 13 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Oct 15 2019 - Fri, Oct 18 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Oct 20 2019 - Wed, Oct 23 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Oct 25 2019 - Mon, Oct 28 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Oct 30 2019 - Sat, Nov 2 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Nov 4 2019 - Thu, Nov 7 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Nov 9 2019 - Tue, Nov 12 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Nov 14 2019 - Sun, Nov 17 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Nov 19 2019 - Fri, Nov 22 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Nov 24 2019 - Wed, Nov 27 2019 Click to Enquire Fri, Nov 29 2019 - Mon, Dec 2 2019 Click to Enquire Wed, Dec 4 2019 - Sat, Dec 7 2019 Click to Enquire Mon, Dec 9 2019 - Thu, Dec 12 2019 Click to Enquire Sat, Dec 14 2019 - Tue, Dec 17 2019 Click to Enquire Thu, Dec 19 2019 - Sun, Dec 22 2019 Click to Enquire Tue, Dec 24 2019 - Fri, Dec 27 2019 Click to Enquire Sun, Dec 29 2019 - Wed, Jan 1 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Jan 3 2020 - Mon, Jan 6 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Jan 8 2020 - Sat, Jan 11 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Jan 13 2020 - Thu, Jan 16 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Jan 18 2020 - Tue, Jan 21 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Jan 23 2020 - Sun, Jan 26 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Jan 28 2020 - Fri, Jan 31 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Feb 2 2020 - Wed, Feb 5 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Feb 7 2020 - Mon, Feb 10 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Feb 12 2020 - Sat, Feb 15 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Feb 17 2020 - Thu, Feb 20 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Feb 22 2020 - Tue, Feb 25 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Feb 27 2020 - Sun, Mar 1 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Mar 3 2020 - Fri, Mar 6 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Mar 8 2020 - Wed, Mar 11 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Mar 13 2020 - Mon, Mar 16 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Mar 18 2020 - Sat, Mar 21 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Mar 23 2020 - Thu, Mar 26 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Mar 28 2020 - Tue, Mar 31 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Apr 2 2020 - Sun, Apr 5 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Apr 7 2020 - Fri, Apr 10 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Apr 12 2020 - Wed, Apr 15 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Apr 17 2020 - Mon, Apr 20 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Apr 22 2020 - Sat, Apr 25 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Apr 27 2020 - Thu, Apr 30 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, May 2 2020 - Tue, May 5 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, May 7 2020 - Sun, May 10 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, May 12 2020 - Fri, May 15 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, May 17 2020 - Wed, May 20 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, May 22 2020 - Mon, May 25 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, May 27 2020 - Sat, May 30 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Jun 1 2020 - Thu, Jun 4 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Jun 6 2020 - Tue, Jun 9 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Jun 11 2020 - Sun, Jun 14 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Jun 16 2020 - Fri, Jun 19 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Jun 21 2020 - Wed, Jun 24 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Jun 26 2020 - Mon, Jun 29 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Jul 1 2020 - Sat, Jul 4 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Jul 6 2020 - Thu, Jul 9 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Jul 11 2020 - Tue, Jul 14 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Jul 16 2020 - Sun, Jul 19 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Jul 21 2020 - Fri, Jul 24 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Jul 26 2020 - Wed, Jul 29 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Jul 31 2020 - Mon, Aug 3 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Aug 5 2020 - Sat, Aug 8 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Aug 10 2020 - Thu, Aug 13 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Aug 15 2020 - Tue, Aug 18 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Aug 20 2020 - Sun, Aug 23 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Aug 25 2020 - Fri, Aug 28 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Aug 30 2020 - Wed, Sep 2 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Sep 4 2020 - Mon, Sep 7 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Sep 9 2020 - Sat, Sep 12 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Sep 14 2020 - Thu, Sep 17 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Sep 19 2020 - Tue, Sep 22 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Sep 24 2020 - Sun, Sep 27 2020 Click to Enquire Tue, Sep 29 2020 - Fri, Oct 2 2020 Click to Enquire Sun, Oct 4 2020 - Wed, Oct 7 2020 Click to Enquire Fri, Oct 9 2020 - Mon, Oct 12 2020 Click to Enquire Wed, Oct 14 2020 - Sat, Oct 17 2020 Click to Enquire Mon, Oct 19 2020 - Thu, Oct 22 2020 Click to Enquire Sat, Oct 24 2020 - Tue, Oct 27 2020 Click to Enquire Thu, Oct 29 2020 - Sun, Nov 1 2020 Click to Enquire
You may also want to look at
Special Offer
3 Day Kruger Park Safari
3 Day Kruger Park Quickie Safari
3 days
From
$579
£479
€523
R8,900

The 3-day Kruger National Park safari is designed for those who want a quick and affordable way to see the Kruger National Park in the company of an expert guide, but are really short on time. We also call it the Kruger Quickie Safari and it departs on set dates from Johannesburg or Nelspruit. Custom departures can be arranged for groups of 4+ (additional cost). Book early to avoid disappointment!

Special Offer
Kruger Park Safari
5 Day Best of Kruger Safari
5 days
From
$925
£765
€835
R14,200

The popular 5-Day Best of Kruger Safari is a 4-night/5-day safari in the Kruger National Park offering open vehicle game drives with an experienced safari guide. Includes a night drive and guided bush walk. Spend two nights at each of two different camps, in different areas of Kruger Park, giving you the best game viewing opportunities. Book early to avoid disappointment!

Share